Board of Referees for issue no 27 of p.o.v.

Mette Hjort
Born 1960. Ph.D. EHESS, Paris. Professor and Programme director, Visual Studies, Lingnan University. Areas of research and teaching: transnational cinema, small national cinemas, cultural policy. Monographs: Stanley Kwan's Center Stage (2006), Small Nation, Global Cinema (2005), The Strategy of Letters (1993). Edited and co-edited volumes: The Cinema of Small Nations (2007), Purity and Provocation (2003), The Postnational Self (2002), Cinema and Nation (2000), Emotion and the Arts (1997), Rules and Conventions (1992), and The Danish Directors (2000). Forthcoming books include The New Nordic Cinemas, with Andy Nestingen, a study of film and risk, and a film classics book on Italian for Beginners.

Henrik Juel
Born 1951. Mag. art and cand. mag in Philosophy and Nordic Philology, Ph.D. in Communication Studies. Associate Professor at the Department of Communication, Business and Information Technologies (CBIT), Roskilde University, where he teaches video production and film theory, aesthetics, communication theory and rhetoric. Research in film phenomenology, rhetoric and didactics. Long standing interest in the aesthetics of nature and creative and philosophical video production. More information and articles in English can be accessed at: http://akira.ruc.dk/~hjuel/

Mark Le Fanu
Born 1950, London. MA in literature from Cambridge University. Film scholar and historian currently based in Aarhus. Author of The Cinema of Andrei Tarkovsky (BFI, 1987) and Mizoguchi and Japan (BFI, 2005).

Bevin Yeatman
Born 1949, Christchurch New Zealand. Doctor of Philosophy. Lecturer, Department of Screen and Media Studies, University of Waikato. Research focus on creative practice, new media developments and media philosophy. Teaching focus on television and digital film practice as well as screen theory and creative theory. Published in various international and national journals, including New Review of Film and Television Studies, Australasian Journal of American Studies and 3CMedia .